Free Press Journal

Karnataka Assembly Elections Results 2018 Updates: 100 percent we will form the government,says BS Yeddyurappa


Bengaluru: The counting of votes for Karnataka Assembly elections is underway, and based on the early trends, the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is leading on 116 seats while Congress is leading on 63 seats. The third key player, Janata Dal (Secular) (JD-S) is leading on 42 seats, while others are leading on one seat.

Counting of votes began at 8 a.m. for 221 out of 224 assembly constituencies in 58,546 polling stations in the state. The elections in two constituencies, Jayanagar and Rajarajeshwari Nagar, both in Bengaluru have been postponed earlier. A total of 2,654 candidates, including 216 women candidates were in the fray for the Assembly Elections this year.

The polling percentage in the May 12 elections has been put at 72.13 per cent. It would be clear post noon whether the voters in Karnataka have given their verdict decisively as being claimed by the political parties, or for a hung assembly as projected by a majority of the post-poll surveys. The counting began today at 38 counting centres across the state, amid high security. In case of a clear verdict in favour of the Congress, the grand old party will have broken the jinx of no political party retaining the reins of the state since 1985, when the erstwhile Janata Dal formed the government under Ramakrishna Hegde for a second consecutive term.


Congress leader Gulam Nabi Azad confirms Congress will support JD(S) in forming next government

Counting of votes for begins, postal ballots to be counted first. Visuals from a strong room (where EVMs & postal ballots are kept) in ‘s Afzalpur.

‘Havan’ being performed by Congress workers outside AICC office in , ahead of counting of votes for

Back To Top