Free Press Journal

idarbha: Praful Patel, Gadkari, Damania file nominations


Nagpur: NCP leader and Union minister Praful Patel, former BJP national president Nitin Gadkari, AAP leader Anjali Damanai and Maharashtra minister Shivajirao Moghe were among those who filed nominations for Lok Sabha polls in Vidarbha region today.

Today was the last day for filing of papers for the constituencies where voting will be held on April 10.

Patel, accompanied by Maharashtra NCP leader Bhaskar Jadhav, minister Anil Deshmukh, Dalit leader Jogendra Kawade and hundreds of party workers, reached for filing his papers before the returning officer in Bhandara, for Bhandara-Gondia seat.

Gadkari visited Dr Babasaheb Ambedkar’s statue at RBI square here and then proceeded with a large number of BJP workers to the District Collectorate for filing papers for the Nagpur constituency.

Former MP Banwarilal Purohit, Rajya Sabha MP Ajay Sancheti, Opposition Leader in Legislative Council Vinod Tawade, state BJP president Davendra Phadanvis were with him. Shiv Sena’s candidate from Ramtek seat Krupal Tumane also accompanied Gadkari.
AAP’s Anjali Damania, who would be taking on Gadkari in Nagpur, also filed her papers today.

In Yavatmal, Congress veteran and minister Shivajirao Moghe, a tribal leader, filed his papers. He was accompanied by Maharashtra Pradesh Congress Committee president Manikrao Thakre, state ministers Nitin Raut and Manohar Naik (NCP) and  MLA Wamanrao Kasawar.