Free Press Journal

EC issues notification for Nashik, Dindori LS seats


Nashik: District Collector cum Returning Officer today issued a notification for Dindori (ST) and Nashik Lok Sabha constituencies, going to polls on April 24.

“Both these constituencies, including Malegaon Central and Malegaon Outer segments attached to Dhule parliamentary constituency, have a total of 38,87,118 voters,” said Collector Vilas Patil.

He said last date for filing of nomination papers is April 5 and that of withdrawal of papers on April 9.

NCP has fielded senior leader and PWD Minister Chhagan Bhujbal from Nashik seat. Also in the fray are retired irrigation engineer and AAP nominee Vijay Pandhare, and MNS’ Pradeep Pawar.

On preparedness to implement model code of conduct, Patil said, “45 flying squads are formed to ensure adherence by candidates to the poll code..We have so far received 20 complaints for poll code violation from the two seats”.

He said 721 people have deposited their licensed weapons with the authorities in Nashik city alone.

“Moreover, preventive action has been taken against 939 people under section 107 of CrPC under city police commissionarate limits and against 1407 people under rural limits,” the Collector said.

He said Excise department has seized illegal liquor worth Rs 11.54 lakh till March 26 and impounded four vehicles being used for transportation of illegal liquor.

EC issues notification for Nashik, Dindori LS seats