Free Press Journal

CPI(M) to vote against BJP, PDP in RS elections in J&K


Srinagar: Terming the proposed alliance between BJP and PDP as “opportunist”, CPI(M) today said it has decided to vote against the parties in the Rajya Sabha election for four seats in Jammu and Kashmir scheduled to be held on February 7.

“I am not with the Government. I am always for secular ethos of the country. I am not going to vote for PDP-BJP alliance,” CPI(M) State Secretary and MLA-elect M Y Tarigami told PTI.

“I have made it quite clear that I will not be voting for them. This is an opportunist alliance,” Tarigami said.

Hakeem Yasin, another Independent candidate who was elected from Khansahib Assembly segment in Budgam district, said, “We are holding a meeting to decide whom to vote for in RS polls”.

“Engineer Rasheed (MLA-elect Handwara), Tarigami and I will take a decision in this reragd at the meeting today,” he said in Srinagar.

Senior Congress leader Gulam Nabi Azad is among seven candidates in the fray for the forthcoming elections for 4 Rajya Sabha seats later this week.

The contestants are: Mir Mohammad Fayaz (PDP), Sajjad Ahmad Kichloo (NC), Shamsher Singh (BJP), Nasir Aslam Wani (NC), Nazir Ahmad Laway (PDP), Chander Mohan Sharma (BJP) and Ghulam Nabi Azad (INC) after the withdrawal of of candidature has been fixed on 31st January.