Free Press Journal

Congress’ Sandeep Dikshit, AAP’s Ashutosh file nomination papers


New Delhi: An array of political leaders, including Congress’ Sandeep Dikshit and Aam Aadmi Party’s Ashutosh today filed their nominations for different parliamentary constituencies in New Delhi.

Congress candidate and sitting Member of Parliament Sandeep Dikshit filed his nomination papers from East Delhi Lok Sabha constituency. His challenger from the constituency, Aam Aadmi Party’s Rajmohan Gandhi also filed his nomination today.

BJP’s candidate from the constituency is Maheish Girri. Journalist-turned-politician and AAP candidate Ashutosh filed his papers from Chandni Chowk that will see three-way contest between him, Union minister Kapil Sibal of Congress and BJP veteran Harsh Vardhan.

The filing of nominations will continue till Mar 22 in Delhi. Sitting MP from New Delhi seat Ajay Maken and his opponent from the Bharatiya Janata Party Meenakshi Lekhi also filed their nomination papers today.

While Maken preferred to come and leave quickly for the process, first time candidate Lekhi chose to do it in style. The Supreme Court lawyer came to the district magistrate’s office driving an open jeep. Lekhi was accompanied by senior leader V.K Malhotra, and other supporters.

After scrutiny on Mar 24, candidates can withdraw their nominations till Mar 26. Out of seven constituencies in Delhi, six are general seats and one is reserved for Scheduled Castes. The parliamentary constituencies are Chandni Chowk, North East Delhi, East Delhi, New Delhi, West Delhi, South Delhi, and North West Delhi (reserved).

From neighbouring Haryana, Congress MP and industrialist Naveen Jindal today filed his nomination papers from his incumbent seat of Kurukshetra. Jindal was accompanied by his mother Savitri Jindal and state’s minister for Urban and Local Bodies Randeep Singh Surjewala among other ministers. Jindal is contesting for the third time for Kurukshetra Lok Sabha seat.

In Chandigarh, it was a Bollywood battle with high glamour quotient. Actors Gul Panag and Kirron Kher filed their nomination papers for the constituency. While former Miss India Panag has been fielded by Aam Aadmi Party, National Award winning actor Kher is BJP’s candidate.

Another woman candidate from AAP, Shazia Ilmi, filed her nomination papers from Ghaziabad. She will take on former Chief of Army Staff V.K. Singh who also filed his nomination as BJP candidate.