Free Press Journal

Cong likely to field same faces for LS poll in Mumbai


New Delhi: Congress is expected to renominate all its sitting members from Mumbai in Lok Sabha polls including Party General Secretary Gurudas Kamat and Union Minister Milind Deora.

A senior leader said the party has no plans to effect any change in party candidates in Mumbai after sweeping the megapolis in the last general elections.

Congress had won five and its ally NCP one seat in Mumbai in the 2009 polls which saw Raj Thackarey’s Maharashtra Navnirman Sena substially cutting into the votes of the BJP-Shiv Sena combine. Mumbai has a total of six LS seats.

Other Congress MPs from Mumbai are AICC Secretaries Priya Dutt and Sanjay Nirupam and senior leader Eknath Gaikwad.

The first meeting of the Central Election Committee of the party is expected next week.