Free Press Journal

Chatap secures highest number of votes for AAP in Vidarbha


Nagpur: Former state legislator and prominent farmer leader Wamanrao Chatap polled the highest number of votes– 2,04,192– among the candidates of Aam Admi Party in the Vidarbha region of Maharashtra.

Chatap, originally a Shetkari Sanghtana leader, was pitted against sitting BJP MP Hansraj Ahir in Chandrapur Lok Sabha constituency. Ahir retained his seat, while Maharashtra Minister for Cultural Affairs Sanjay Deotale of Congress finished second.

Another AAP leader Anjali Damania, who was in the limelight after targeting BJP leader Nitin Gadkari with allegations of corruption, got 69,081 votes in Nagpur, where Gadkari won on his Lok Sabha elections debut. Damania finished fourth.

Dr Ramesh Gajbe, a prominent leader from the Gowari community, polled 45,421 votes in the tribal-dominated Gadchiroli on AAP ticket. Ashok Nete of BJP won in this constituency.

Bamboo entrepreneur and dalit leader Pratap Goswami, who contested from Ramtek on AAP ticket against sitting MP Mukul Wasnik of Congress and Shiv Sena’s Kripa Tumane, got 21,906 votes. Tumane won.

In Wardha, Mohammad Alim polled 15,738 votes for AAP.

Elsewhere in Maharashtra, social activist Medha Patkar secured 76,451 votes in Mumbai North East where Kirit Somaiya of BJP won. Former IPS officer Suresh Khopde got 26,396 votes in Baramati where Supriya Sule of NCP emerged winner.