Free Press Journal

By-election for ten Assembly seats in Bihar on August 21


Patna: By-election for ten Legislative Assembly seats in Bihar, which will turn interesting if the JD(U) and the RJD joined hands against the BJP, will take place on August 21, Election Commission officials said today.

The bypoll on ten Assembly seats have been necessitated after some members got elected to the Lok Sabha and resignation by some others.

The constituencies that will see the bypoll are Narkatiaganj, Rajnagar (SC), Jale, Chapra, Hajipur, Mohiuddinagar, Parbatta, Bhagalpur, Banka and Mohania (SC).

Sitting members at Chapra, Bhagalpur, Hajipur, Mohania and Narkatiaganj who are Janardan Singh Sigriwal, Ashwani Choubey, Nityanand Rai, Chhedi Paswan and Satish Chandra Dubey respectively, have been elected to the Lok Sabha in the recently concluded general elections.

Legislators from the rest five seats resigned for political reasons.

RJD members representing Parbatta, Rajnagar (SC) and Banka – Samrat Chaudhary, Ram Lakhan Ram Raman and Javed Ansari respectively – resigned after rebelling from the RJD.

They were nominated to the Legislative Council and made ministers in Jitan Ram Manjhi government.

Two BJP members from Jale and Mohiuddinagar, Vijay Mishra and Rana Gangeswar Singh, who were up in arms against the party after a split in the NDA, had resigned.