Free Press Journal

BJP, Congress, AAP, CPI to contest both Goa LS constituencies


Panaji: National parties and other regional political outfit are contesting polls from the two Lok Sabha constituencies in Goa.

The parties’ names became clear after deadline for filing nominations ended today.

The BJP, Congress, AAP and CPI filed their nominations from both North Goa as well as South Goa constituencies, while the Trinamool Congress has fielded its candidate only from the South Goa constituency.

Regional outfit like the Goa Democratic Front (GDF) and the Goa Su-Raj Party are contesting only from one constituency each. Both the parties are contesting parliamentary elections for the first time.

BJP sitting MP Shripad Naik from the North Goa constituency is pitted against Congress’ Ravi Naik, AAP’s Dattaram Desai and CPI’s Suhas Naik.

The GDF, which is a newly-formed political outfit has fielded its president Dayanand Narvekar as its candidate from North Goa.

In South Goa, the Congress refused a ticket to sitting MP Fransisco Sardinha and fielded Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco as its candidate, while the BJP has fielded its general secretary Narendra Sawaikar and AAP has fielded Swati Kerkar.

CPI’s union leader Raju Mangueshkar is contesting from South Goa.

The Trinamool Congress has fielded former Goa chief minister Churchill Alemao, who resigned from the Congress recently, in the South Goa constituency, while the Goa Su-Raj party has fielded its youth leader Savio Rodrigues.

The NCP already has a pre-poll alliance with the Congress in both North Goa as well as South Goa.