Free Press Journal

11 hours for voting in Lok Sabha polls


New Delhi:  Voters across India, barring the northeast, will be given 11 hours – from 7 a.m. to 6 p.m. – to cast their ballot for the Lok Sabha polls, the Election Commission said Saturday.

In the most of the northeast region, people will get 10 hours – between 7 a.m. and 5 p.m. – to vote, while in Manipur and Nagaland – where the Armed Forces (Special Powers) Act is in force – polling would take place till 4 p.m. due to security reasons.

The general election will be held in nine phases – starting April 7 and ending May 12. Counting of votes will take place May 16.

Back To Top