Free Press Journal

Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017 : District Wise Results, UP Poll Party Wise List, Candidates


Holi has arrived two days early for Bharatiya Janta Party (BJP) as it celebrates its most crucial win over Uttar Pradesh. Prime Minister Narendra Modi was right when he said that it will be a saffron Holi in Uttar Pradesh for the BJP, and with 325 seats, its surely going to a memorable Holi for the party. “Gratitude to the people of India for the continued faith, support and affection for the BJP. This is very humbling & overwhelming,” said PM Modi, thanking voters and party workers. Credit should be given to Amit Shah for BJP’s landslide win as he got all the calculations right.

The ruling alliance of SP and Congress couldn’t even manage to reach anywhere near BJP, and  secured only 56 seats. Even BSP couldn’t manage to grab attention of the voters and got a win on just 19 seats. After very unsatisfying results Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) supremo Mayawati today blamed the BJP of “tampering of electronic voting machines” (EVM) for her BSP being crushed in the Uttar Pradesh elections. “Either the EVMs did not accept votes other than BJP, or the votes of other parties have gone to BJP in the EVMs. Looks like voting machines have not accepted any vote from another party than BJP,” Mayawati said after counting leads are showing the BJP sweeping the state elections.

Uttar Pradesh Chief Minister Akhilesh Yadav conceding defeat in the state and said the loss of his Party would be analysed. He also said that the alliance with the Congress will continue despite the defeat. Speaking at a press conference Akhilesh Yadav sarcastically said,  “I guess the new government will provide better expressways, maybe people didn’t like the freeways we built, and now a bullet train will be brought for UP.” Akhilesh Yadav has tendered his resignation to Governor Ram Naik.

Celebrating party’s victory, Amit Shah said that BJP will hold a reception for PM Modi at the party office on Sunday evening after which the party’s top decision makers, the parliamentary board, will meet to decide on chief ministers. “We will form government in four states – UP, Uttarakhand, Goa and Manipur,” Mr Shah said. The win also boosts the BJP’s strength in the Rajya Sabha where the Congress-led Opposition has been able to block the government’s legislative agenda due to its numerical superiority.

UP Election Results 2017
PartySeats Leading( % )









Also Read: Uttar Pradesh Elections 2017: Final Winner List, Poll Results, Constituency, District, Candidates Who Won