Free Press Journal

UP Elections: 10.77 % voter turnout recorded till 9 a.m


Lucknow: The voter turnout for the fifth phase of Uttar Pradesh assembly polls has been recorded at 10.77 percent till 9 a.m. on Monday.

As the assembly election is underway, voting is taking place for 51 constituencies spread over 12 districts of Terai and eastern regions in this phase.

Also Read: UP Elections, Brisk polling in 5th phase of polls

Among the districts where the polls are taking place are Amethi, Sultanpur, Faizabad, Barabanki, Ambedkarnagar, Bahraich, Shravasti, Balrampur, Gonda, Basti, Siddharthnagar and Sant Kabir Nagar. Polling, which started at 7 a.m, will end at 5 p.m.

A total of 607 candidates including 40 women are in the fray. The Bahujan Samaj Party (BSP) has fielded its nominees in all 51 segments while the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is contesting in 50 seats. The saffron party has left one seat to its ally Apana Dal.

Also Read: UP elections, An unpredictable affair

The Samajwadi Party nominees are in fray from 43 constituencies and its ally Congress is contesting 14 seats. Elaborate arrangements have been made to ensure free and fair polls. Six police observers have been deployed to keep eyes on security arrangements. Central forces conducted flag march in sensitive areas yesterday to instill confidence among voters.

Over 1,600 hamlets and over 2,300 polling stations have been identified as sensitive and critical and special security measures have been made in these localities. Polling process is being webcast live from 1792 polling stations.