Free Press Journal

Trivendra Singh Rawat is new Uttarakhand CM, will take oath tomorrow


Dehradun: Trivendra Singh Rawat was on Friday formally elected leader of the BJP Legislature Party in Uttarakhand. He will take oath as Chief Minister on Saturday.

“Trivendra Singh Rawat was elected leader of the BJP Legislature Party. His name was proposed by Satpal Maharaj and Prakash Pant. The proposal was accepted unanimously,” Union Minister Narendra Singh Tomar told the media here.

Tomar said that the BJP legislators, headed by Rawat, would meet Governor Krishan Kant Paul and stake claim to form the new government in the state. BJP’s National Vice-President and Uttarakhand in-charge Shyam Jaju said that oath-taking ceremony would take place on Saturday.

He said that Prime Minister Narendra Modi and BJP President Amit Shah would attend the oath-taking ceremony.