Free Press Journal

Three more Congress leaders join TDP


Hyderabad: Exodus of Congress leaders to Telugu Desam Party continued with two MLAs and a former legislator joining the main opposition party of Andhra Pradesh today.

Senior Congress MLA and former Minister Silpa Mohan Reddy, MLA Labbi Venkataswamy and ex-MLA Challa Ramakrishna Reddy, all hailing from Kurnool district, joined TDP.     TDP President N Chandrababu Naidu welcomed them into the party.

They follow in the footsteps of former Congress ministers T G Venkatesh and Erasu Pratap Reddy, also hailing from Kurnool, who joined TDP yesterday.

Congress legislators from coastal Andhra and Rayalaseema are quitting the party and joining TDP, reposing faith in the leadership of Naidu and saying only he could develop the regions following the state’s division.

J C Diwakar Reddy, a Congress veteran and another former Minister, is next in line to join TDP.

Former minister Ganta Srinivasa Rao and four Congress MLAs are expected to join the Naidu-led outfit at a public meeting in Visakhapatnam on March 12.