Free Press Journal

Over 50 per cent voting recorded in Bihar poll till 3 PM


Patna: In the first phase of voting, mor than 50 per cent voting was recorded as polling ended at 3 PM in some of the 49 Assembly seats of Bihar. The Election office bulletin said that a total of 50.85 per cent voting was recorded at 49 seats by 3 PM. Voting ended at the nine naxal-hit seats -Tarapur, Jamalpur, Suryagraha, Rajauli (SC), Govindpur, Sikandara (SC), Jamui, Jhajha and Chakai.

A welcome fact on these Assembly seats was that all of them recorded high voting percentage ranging from 49 to 59.5 per cent. District-wise polling percentage was 49.46 per cent in Samastipur, 51.87 per cent in Begusarai, 57.93 per cent in Khagaria, 45.56 per cent in Bhagalpur, 49.33 per cent in Banka, 54.41 per cent in Munger, 47.40 per cent in Lakhisarai, 50.06 per cent in Sheikhpura, 46.81 per cent in Nawada and 56.85 in Jamui, the EC bulletin said.

Additional Chief Electoral Officer R Lakshaman said there was no report of any untoward incident. Khagaira saw a maximum of 63 per cent voting at 3 PM followed by Alauli (reserved SC seat) in Khagaria from where Pashupati Kumar Paras, state LJP President and brother of party chief Ramvilas Paswan is in the fray which registered 60 per cent voting at 3 PM.

Elderly people and women turned out in large numbers at many polling booths. A 95-year old lady was seen arriving at a polling booth in Samastipur to cast vote. Another veteran, 96-year-old Mahendra Prasad was spotted at a booth in Munger. Helped by family members, he arrived at the polling station on a wheel chair.

Two other nonagenarians were seen coming for voting on horseback in Samastipur. A CRPF commandant, identified as P K Mishra, and his body guard Mantu Kumar were injured in a road mishap in Munger district while patrolling for the elections.

The motorcycle-borne commandant and the jawan were injured when they lost control of the vehicle in order to save an animal, Mishra, who has been admitted to Sadar hospital, said. A total number of 1.35 crore electorate were expected to cast their votes for 49 assembly seats for which 583 candidates, including 54 women, candidates are in the fray.

Voting started at 7 AM in all 12,686 booths in 49 seats. Polling in four constituencies – Alauli(SC), Beldaur, Katoria (ST), Belhar – will end at 4 PM. The polling for the remaining 36 constituencies will be end at 5 PM.