Free Press Journal

Karnataka Election 2018: CM BS Yeddyurappa fails to get numbers, resigns ahead of floor test


MLA oath ceremony in Karnataka AssemblyKarnataka Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa greets the Assembly members at Vidhana Soudha. PTI Photo/Shailendra Bhojak

Bengaluru: The Karnataka government led by B.S. Yeddyurappa, lost the floor test in the Vidhan Soudha here on Saturday. Yeddyurappa resigned after he wasn’t able to establish his majority. In his speech inside Vidhan Soudha he said that he will fight till his last breath.

The floor test was conducted on the instructions of the Governor of Karnataka, Vajubhai R. Vala after the Congress-JD(S) alliance also claimed the right to form the government in the state on the basis of the 117 seats it had as compared to the 104 seats that the BJP had.

On Friday,, while hearing a petition of the Congress-JD(S) alliance, the Supreme Court reduced the 15-day original time given by Governor Vala to the BJP to prove its majority in the house and asked the party to hold the trust vote on Saturday at 4 p.m.

The Congress-JD(S) alliance welcomed the top court’s move, saying the BJP’s bluff had been finally called out.
On Saturday, the Supreme Court also rejected the Congress-JD (S) petition to remove K.A. Bopaiah as pro-tem speaker ahead of the floor test and appoint the senior most legislator R.V. Deshmukh in his place. The apex court instead ordered the video graphing of the floor test to ensure transparency of proceedings.