Free Press Journal

Javadekar, Sitharaman take oath in RS


Prakash Javadekar

New Delhi: Union ministers Prakash Javedkar and Nirmla Sitharaman and senior JD-U leader Sharad Yadav and NCP’s Praful Patel today took oath as members of Rajya Sabha.

Commerce and Industry Minister Sitharaman (BJP), who was elected to Rajya Sabha from Andhra Pradesh, took oath in English while I&B and Environment Minister Javedkar, who was elected from Madhya Pradesh, took oath in Hindi.

Gulam Rasool Balyawi and Pawan Kumar Verma (both JD-U), who were elected to Rajya Sabha from Bihar recently, also took.

Others who took oath are M V Rajeev Gowda and B K Hariprasad (bothCong) from Karnataka, Anubhab Mohanty and Bhupinder Singh (both BJD) from Odisha and Vishambhar Prasad Nishad (SP) from Uttar Pradesh.

Members shook hands with Chairman Hamid Ansari and greeted leaders after taking oath.

After the oath, the House mourned the death of its former member Shanti G Patel.

Ansari said Patel, a doctor by profession, passed away on June 13, 2014.

Patel, who was Mayor of Mumbai during 1970-71, represented the state of Maharashtra in the Upper House from July 1980 to July 1986.

“In passing away of Patel, the country has lost a veteran freedom fighter, an able parliamentarian, a noted trade unionist and a dedicated social worker,” Ansari said.

The House also lauded PSLV-23 successfully launching 5 satelites of France, Germany, Canada and Singapore on June 30.

The successful launch, Ansari said, was yet another milestone in success story of Indian space programme for which scientists and technicians need to be congratulated.

Tagged with: