Free Press Journal

Goa Assembly Elections 2017: Constituency Wise Results, Party Wise Candidate List


On 4th February Goa went to polls, which saw 84 percent voter turnout. Goa which has 40 assembly counstituncies, saw a hung assembly in the state with the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) winning 13 seats and the Congress 17 in the 40-member assembly. Despite being a runner-up behind the Congress, the BJP pulled off a coup and staked the claim
to form the next government in Goa in coalition with local outfits and independents under Manohar Parrikar, a day after the fractured verdict. Most of the ministers in the BJP-led government have failed to retain their spot. Chief Minister Laxmikant Parsekar too performed poorly and could not win on his own constituency of Mandre where he lost to Dayanand Raghunath Sopte by significant margin. AAP was a dry storm and left with out leaving a mark. The BJP has enlisted the support of two independents, three members each of the Goa Forward Party (GFP) and the Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP).

Though the lone NCP member Churchill Alemao has also backed the coalition, he is yet to submit the formal letter of support. Manohar Parrikar on Monday resigned as the Defence Minister and will be sworn in as the Chief Minister of Goa on Tuesday heading the BJP-led ministry which has the support of regional outfits and Independents. “I have tendered my resignation as Defence Minister and sent it to the Prime Minister’s Office (PMO)” Parrikar told PTI today. “I will be taking the oath tomorrow evening along with the cabinet ministers,” he added. Asked how many ministers would be sworn in, Parrikar said, “The decision on the number of ministers and other issues are being currently worked out. Once the cabinet is finalised, we will inform the media.”

Goa Election Results 2017
PartyLeading( % )







Following is the full list of all the winners:


Constituency list Party Winner
Mandrem Congress Dayanand Sopte
Pernem Ajgaonkar Manohar Trimbak Maharashtrawadi Gomantak
Bicholim BJP Rajesh Patnekar
Thivim Congress Nilkant Halarnkar
Mapusa BJP Francis D’souza
Siolem Goa Forward Party Vinoda Datarama Paliencar
Saligao Goa Forward Party Jayesh Vidyadhar Salgaonkar
Calangute BJP Michael Vincent Lobo
Porvorim Independent Rohan Khaunte
Aldona BJP Glenn Souza Ticlo
Panji BJP Siddharth Kuncalienkar
Taleigao Congress Jennifer Monserrate
St. Cruz Congress Antonio Fernandes
St. Andre Cong Francisco Silveira
Cumbarjua BJP Pandurang Madkaikar
Maem BJP Pravin Zantye
Sanquelim BJP Dr. Pramod Pandurang Sawant
Poriem Congress Pratapsingh Rane
Valpoi Congress Vishwajeet Rane
Priol Independent Govind Gaude
Ponda Congress Ravi Naik
Sirodar Congress Subash Shirodkar
Marcaim MGP Sudin Dhavalikar
Mormugao BJP Milind Naik
Vasco da Gama BJP Jose Luis Carlos Almeida
Dabolim BJP Mouvin Godinho
Cortalim BJP Alina Saldanha
Nuvem Congress Wilfred D’Sa
Curotirm Congress Aleixo Reginaldo Lourenco
Fatorda Goa Forward Vijai Sardesai
Margao Congress Digambar Kamat
Benaulim NCP Churchil Alemao
Navelim Congress Luizinho Faleiro
Cuncolim Congress Clafasio Dias
NaVelim Congress Luizinho Faleiro
Quepem Congress Babu Kavlekar
Curchorem BJP Nilesh Cabral
Sanvordem MGP Deepak Pawaskar
Sanguem Independent Prasad Gaonkar
Canacona INC Isidore Aleixinho