Free Press Journal

AK Jyoti of Gujarat cadre will be the next poll panel chief


New Delhi : Current Election Commissioner Achal Kumar Jyoti will take charge as the Chief Election Commissioner (CEC) after Nasim Zaidi retires on July 6. Zaidi had taken over as the 20th CEC on April 19, 2015.

Jyoti, an IAS officer of 1975 batch, who served as the Chief Secretary and State Vigilance Commissioner of Gujarat, assumed charge as Election Commissioner on May 13, 2015.

Born on January 23, 1953, Jyoti would be overseeing state Assembly elections in Gujarat and Himachal Pradesh just before demitting office in January next year.

Elections in Gujarat and Himachal are due before January 22 and January 7, 2018, respectively.

An EC or a CEC has a tenure of six years in office or till he or she attains the age of 65 years, whichever is earlier. Jyoti will, however, have a short tenure of seven months until January 23, 2018 when he turns 65, the upper age limit for the CEC or EC.

Election Commissioner Om Prakash Rawat, a retired 1977 batch MP cadre IAS officer who joined the commission on August 14, 2015, will be the next CEC after Jyoti, but he too would retire on December 2, 2018.

The Karnataka Assembly elections will be under Rawat’s supervision as the CEC while he may also conduct the Assembly elections in Rajasthan, Madhya Pradesh and Chhattisgarh if held in November 2018 but not later.