Free Press Journal

267 in fray for Lok Sabha polls in Telangana




Hyderabad: As many as 267 candidates remained in fray for the 17 Lok Sabha seats and 1,682 candidates for 119 assembly seats in Telangana, an election official said Sunday.

Chief electoral officer Bhanwarlal told reporters that the number of candidates for assembly elections in the region had increased substantially compared to 2009 elections.

After 39 candidates withdrew their nominations on the last day Saturday, 267 remained in fray for parliamentary elections, he added.

The highest number of 30 candidates each are in Malkajgiri and Secunderabad Lok Sabha constituencies while Nagarkurnool (SC) has the lowest number of six candidates. There are eight candidates in Adilabad and nine in Nalgonda.

For the assembly elections, 1,682 candidates remained in fray. Hyderabad district has the highest number of candidates (298) followed by Ranga Reddy (284).

Karimnagar district has the lowest – 101 – candidates.

Amberpet assembly constituency in Hyderabad has the highest number of 32 candidates in the fray while 31 candidates are testing their political fortunes in Secunderabad assembly constituency.

Andhole assembly constituency in Medak district has only five candidates.

Simultaneous elections to 119 assembly and 17 Lok Sabha seats in Telangana are scheduled on April 30.

Elections to 175 assembly and 25 Lok Sabha seats in Seemandhra will be held on May 7.

The election commission is holding the polls in united Andhra Pradesh. The state will formally be bifurcated on June 2 when Telangana and Seemandhra (Andhra Pradesh) will come into being as separate states.