Free Press Journal

23rd Star screen awards: Pink glitters, while Neerja shines as well



Star Screen Award function, is a time when all the stars from universe come down on earth to attend the ceremony. The 23rd Star screen awards, held in Mumbai yesterday, started with a bang and the cheery on the cake were Salman Khan and Shahrukh Khan, as the duo hosted the show.

The first half was hosted by Karan Johar and Karan Singh Grover and last half by Salman and Shahrukh.

Here’s a glimpse of the yesterday’s award show. The movie which grabbed for best film was Shojit Sircar ‘Pink’ as it won four awards, Amitabh Bachchan for best actor award, Aditya Bannerji got the Best Editing award and Ritesh Shah got the Best Dialogue award.

Indian Bollywood actor Amitabh Bachchan (R) with daughter Shweta Nanada attend the 23rd annual 'Star Screen Awards 2016' in Mumbai on December 4, 2016.  / AFP PHOTO / -

Actress Alia Bhatt received best actress award for Udta Punjab.

The un-fading beauty Rekha was honoured with life time achievement award. Actress Sonam Kapoor did a special performance on Rekha’s songs and veteran actress also joined her.

Mumbai: Bollywood actress Rekha performs during the 23rd Annual Star Screen Awards 2016 in Mumbai on Sunday. PTI Photo (PTI12_5_2016_000102B)

The Critics Choice for Best Actor award went to Sushant Singh Rajput for M.S. Dhoni – The Untold Story and the Critics Choice for Best Actress went to Swara Bhaskar for Nil Battey Sannata.

Several Bollywood celebrities attended the award function including Alia, Varun Dhawan, Kriti Sanon, Bipasha Basu, Harshvardhan Kapoor, Huma Quereshi, Sonam, Divya Khosla Kumar among others.

Here is the complete list of winners

Best Film-Pink

Best Actor -Amitabh Bachchan – Pink

Best Actress-Alia Bhatt – Udta Punjab

Best Director-Ram Madhvani – Neerja

Critic’s Choice for Best Actor-Sushant Singh Rajput – M.S. Dhoni – The Untold Story

Critic’s Choice for Best Actress-Swara Bhaskar – Nil Battey Sannata

Most Promising Debut Director-Tinu Suresh Desai – Rustom

Best Actor in a Comic Role-Varun Dhawan – Dishoom

Best Child Artist-Riya Shukla – Nil Battey Sannata

Best Newcomer (Male)-Jim Sarbh – Neerja

Harshvardhan Kapoor – Mirzya

Best Newcomer (Female)-Disha Patani – M.S. Dhoni – The Untold Story (Female)

Star Plus Ki Nai Soch Award-Alia Bhatt

Best Style Icon Award-Deepika Padukone

Best Supporting Actress-Shabana Azmi – Neerja

Lifetime Achievement Award-Rekha

Best Lyricist-Amitabh Bhattacharya – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Music-Pritam Chakraborty – Ae Dil Hai Mushkil

Best Playback Singer (Male)-Amit Mishra – Bulleya (Ae Dil Hai Mushkil)

Best Playback Singer (Female)-Palak Muchhal – Kaun Tujhe (M.S. Dhoni – The Untold Story)

Best Choreography-Bosco-Caesar – Kala Chashma (Baar Baar Dekho)

Best Editing-Aditya Bannerji – Pink

Best Cinematography-Anay Goswami – Fitoor

Best Action-Jai Singh Nijjar – Shivaay

Best Story Screenplay-Saiwyn Quadras – Neerja

Best Dialogue-Ritesh Shah – Pink.

(Please note some, most of the information is source-based and curated. Free Press Journal does not take any responsibility in case any of the information provided above is wrong)