Free Press Journal
  • President to adopt 50 more Haryana villages

    President Pranab Mukherjee has expressed a desire to adopt 50 villages in Haryana and develop them as smart villages, Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar informed the state Assembly on Friday. On the concluding day of the budget session, Khattar said the President had in July 2016 adopted five villages – Alipur, Daula, Harchandpur and Tajnagar in Gurugram district and Rozkameo in Mewat district.–PTI

  • More time to Centre on scrapped notes

    New Delhi : The Supreme Court on Friday gave time to the government and the Reserve Bank of India (RBI) till March 21 to explain why not to allow exchange of the scrapped currency notes of Rs 500 and Rs 1,000 till March-end as announced in November at the time of their demonetisation.

  • Revise railway passenger fares to recover cost: CAG

    New Delhi : The Comptroller and Auditor General (CAG) has asked the railways to revise passenger fares and curtail concessional passes to recover its operating cost in a phased manner.

  • Family reunion for PoK boys arrested for Uri attack!

    Lahore/Wagah : Two teenage boys from PoK, against whom the NIA dropped charges of conspiracy in the Uri terror strike, were on Friday reunited with their families at the Wagah border after spending nearly six months in detention. Faisal Hussain Awan and Ahsan Khursheed had been handed over to the Jammu-based 16 Corps of the army this week after the probe agency came to the conclusion that the two had strayed into the

  • BJP, Cong-SP combine are confident of victory in UP

    New Delhi : Leaders of the BJP and the SP-Congress combine, on Friday, exuded confidence about a victory of their respective party in the Uttar Pradesh assembly polls, a day after exit poll results suggested the saffron party will have an edge over rivals. BJP leaders said they would get a “two-third majority” in the 403-member Uttar Pradesh assembly. The SP sought to pick holes in the surveys, terming these as “nonsensical” and

  • Political instability not new to Uttar Pradesh

    Lucknow : Will Uttar Pradesh, which has witnessed long phases of instability and fractured mandate, be lucky this time as in the past two Assembly elections to have a clear cut winner?

  • Many memorable firsts in UP poll battle

    Lucknow : The long, staggered assembly elections in Uttar Pradesh, whose results are to be announced on March 11, would be remembered for innumerable reasons. While, like most similar tests at the hustings, this one too had its share of the avoidable — be it the use of words like KaSaB, gadha (ass), or below the belt jibes against political opponents, there were many firsts in the staggered, seven-phased polls spread over a

  • Lalu trashes exit polls giving edge to BJP in UP

    Patna : RJD president Lalu Prasad on Friday rubbished the exit polls which gave an edge to the BJP in Uttar Pradesh and said the prediction would fall flat the way it did in Bihar elections. “Like in Bihar elections, all the exit polls would fall flat in Uttar Pradesh where Samajwadi Party-Congress would emerge victorious,” Prasad told reporters.

  • UP poll results to decide fate of regional satraps

    Lucknow : The results of the Uttar Pradesh Assembly elections today will decide the fate of regional satraps Akhilesh Yadav and Mayawati as they seek to prevent the BJP from gaining power in the politically-crucial state. These elections are widely being seen as a virtual referendum on Prime Minister Narendra Modi’s demonetisation decision and they would also be a test for Yadav who recently took charge as the national president of the Samajwadi

  • Who will win Goa, will Parrikar return as CM?

    Panaji : The focus in Goa today will be on whether the BJP will be able to retain power and if it gets a fresh mandate. Will Defence Minister Manohar Parrikar return to his home state as chief minister?

  • Seven elected unopposed to Andhra Council

    Amaravati : Five candidates of the ruling Telugu Desam and two of the lone opposition YSR Congress were, on Friday, elected unopposed to the Andhra Pradesh Legislative Council under the MLAs’ quota. TDP’s Nara Lokesh, Dokka Manikya Varaprasad, Karanam Balaramakrishna Murthy, Pothula Sunita and Batchula Arjunudu and YSRC’s Alla Srinivas alias Nani and Gangula Prabhakar Reddy were elected unopposed to fill the seven seats that fell vacant on March 29 following the retirement

  • S Korea Prez ousted

    The Constitutional Court formally removes President Park Geun-hye from office over a corruption scandal  (more…)