Free Press Journal

Angelo Mathews defends England’s Jos Buttler’s `Mankad dismissal` by Sri Lanka

FOLLOW US:

London: The controversial run-out of England’s Jos Buttler during Sri Lanka’s six wicket victory at Edgbaston in the final ODI of the five-match series has reportedly been defended by the visitors captain Angelo Mathews.

Sri Lanka bowler Sachithra Senanayake had twice warned Buttler for straying out of his crease at the non-striker’s end before the off-spinner took out the batsman with a ‘Mankad dismissal’.

According to the BBC, Mathews defended the dismissal, saying that Buttler was taking starts, not only in the latest game but in the previous ODI at Lord’s as well, adding that he would stick by it as what Sri Lanka did was completely within the rules.


Buttler had been backing up, walking down the pitch at the non-striker’s end as Senanayake ran in to bowl in readiness to run, but Sri Lanka felt that the batsman was attempting to gain an unfair advantage.

Mathews said that his side gave Buttler two warnings, but the batsman did not stop, so they had to go for his dismissal at the non-striker’s end.

Even though Sri Lanka adhered to Law 42.11 from the ICC’s playing regulations for international cricket, which states that the bowler is allowed before releasing the ball and provided he has not completed his usual delivery swing, to attempt to run out the non-striker, England captain Alastair Cook said that it was a mode of dismissal from which he would not have been comfortable to benefit.