Free Press Journal

Bhopal: Kamal Nath welcomes three parachute candidates?


Turning down the mandate of party president Rahul Gandhi, State Congress chief Kamal Nath inducted three leaders into party on Saturday. Will these candidates convert into parachute candidates would become clear very soon?• Nath said that process of quitting and joining a party happens during election time, but those with potential to defeat BJP will be given tickets. Replying to a question on tickets to parachute candidates he said what is a parachute candidate?

We only need winning candidate. He justified his act giving example of Sanjay Pathak who had joined BJP. There are several former Congress leaders in the ruling union government. Nath reiterated that if a BJP member with winning potential joins Congress, he would be given ticket. In recent past several prominent leaders have joined Congress. Faces such as Padma Shukla and Kedar Sirohi are contenders for party tickets with support base in their respective regions. Congress president Rahul Gandhi during his visit to the state last month had assured the party that parachute candidates would not be given tickets in assembly elections.

Shekhar Chaudhari’s ghar wapsi

Former BJP leader Shekhar Chaudhari returned back to the Congress fold. Chaudhari a former MLA from Gotegaon had left Congress in 2008 and had joined BJP. BM Tiwari, who contested on BSP ticket from

Arya joins Congress

Farmers’ leader Arjun Arya, formally joined Congress party here on Saturday. Arya was first given a ticket by the Samajwadi Party but he returned the ticket and moved to the Congress party. When asked whether he would be ready if Congress fields him against CM Shivraj, he said he was ready to contribute in any role the Congress assigns him, in order to help out farmers and throw out the BJP government. Arya’s aggressive participation in farmers’ struggles started in February this year when he led the protest of 25,000 hailstorm affected farmers.

Back To Top